Opus Orchestra

“What is so special about Opus is the combination of gifted players and total dedication.  We love making music together…”    Peter Walls, Music Director, Opus Orchestra

Opus Orchestra was founded in 1991 and continues to offer outstanding orchestral experiences for both musicians and audience. Its vision is to provide the highest possible standard of musical performance for audiences in the Waikato/Bay of Plenty regions and the wider Central North Island through a programme of more than a dozen concerts each year.

Opus Orchestra gives professional performance opportunities to our musicians that enhance and contribute to the cultural identity of the region. Opus has attracted internationally recognised musicians as soloists, including Michael Houston, Diedre Irons and Simon O’Neill.  Now in its 26th year, Opus Orchestra promises to continue its long-standing tradition of artistic excellence and to provide the Waikato and Bay of Plenty public with great music and great artists.  The full orchestra performs toured series at least twice a year.

Opus also offers ensembles of different sizes which are available for arts festivals, choral productions and corporate/private functions. Repertoire for such engagements is chosen to fit the requirements of the occasion in consultation with our Music Director.  If you are interested in having professional musicians at your event, please contact us. Read more about Opus Ensemble here

Meet our players, soloists and Concertmaster

Read reviews of our recent events

We would like to thank our wonderful family of ‘Friends’ and supporters :                  

Hamilton Tauranga Rotorua NZ (Regional)
M & M Carr

T Miles

H Goodman & K Mayes

C Polglase

FAME Trust  Rotorua
Roger Brewster
Mary Burdon
Steve  Chou
Mayor Steve Chadwick
Stewart & Waiki Edward
Hanno Fairburn
Catriona Gordon
Martin Hampson
Alan & Nadine Hooper
Genevieve Joyce
Judy Keaney QSM
Ann Larkin
Joanne La Grouw
Tom & Sidney Louisson
Judy O’Sullivan
Lyall & Gabrielle Thurston

B Eady

J & B Russenberger

Hugh and Marion Townend

P Walls

Our wonderful supporters and partners