Opus Winds

22 September 2017 @ 8:00 pm – 10:00 pm
Waikato Museum Te Whare Taonga o Waikato
Grantham St
Hamilton 3204
New Zealand

Serenade in D minor Op. 44                                                                                                  ANTONIN DVORÁK

Serenade No. 10 K. 361 in B flat Major (Gran partita)                                                          W A MOZART

Serenade in E flat major Op. 7                                                                                             RICHARD STRAUSS

Three prodigious composers, three beautiful works, three unique venues.
The wind players of Opus Orchestra are frequently complimented by reviewers for their gorgeous solo lines. This is a rare opportunity to hear them perform together in a stunning wind-only programme.

Dvorak’s graceful Serenade in D minor is filled with Slavonic folk rhythms and harmonies, and stands proud as a well-loved work for both players and audience alike. Strauss composed his youthful Serenade in E-flat major, full of charm and vivacity, at just 17 years of age. Mozart’s remarkable Gran Partita expertly utilises the characters of the different wind instruments in an unquestionably sublime work that continues to endear audiences.

Opus Winds, an ensemble of professional musicians, under the baton of Maestro Peter Walls, will be touring this wonderful programme in Hamilton, Tauranga and Taupo in three unique venues.